By uniting diverse faculty and students for more than a century, The University of Chicago has fostered one of the most unique—and decorated—intellectual communities in the world. Faculty, researchers, and alumni have earned nearly 90 Nobel Prizes and nearly 50 MacArthur “genius grants,” along with numerous national medals and fellowships. Most recently, Wendy Freedman, who joined the faculty in 2014, won the American Philosophical Society’s Magellanic Prize, as well as the Gruber Cosmology Prize—astronomy’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize. In 2010, Ngô Bao Châu received the Fields Medal, the highest professional honor for mathematicians, for his proof of the fundamental lemma of the Langlands Program.

Over time, the University’s commitment to diversity has drawn such diverse thinkers and speakers as gender theorist Kate Bornstein, scholar and activist Angela Davis, civil rights leader Jesse Jackson Sr., Pulitzer Prize–winning author Jhumpa Lahiri, and Houston mayor Annise Parker.

Inspired by the University’s diverse community, John D. Rockefeller Jr. founded the International House in 1932 to promote cross-cultural appreciation and understanding. To date, the residence hall has been home to over 40,000 students from nearly every country and serves as a cultural center for diversity programs for both the University and the general public.

Communities within the University have emerged to support a host of student and faculty interests. The Chicago Center for Jewish Studies has flourished with the appointments of eminent scholars, holding workshops throughout the year that bring students and faculty together to discuss current issues and ongoing research. The LGBTQ community has had a long-standing voice on campus since students formed the city of Chicago’s first gay liberation organization in 1969—the University of Chicago Gay Liberation Front. Today, the Office of LGBTQ Student Life provides educational, social, and professional opportunities and resources for all UChicago students.

Continuing the Commitment